Sign In / Register
Make This My Home Page | Feedback |RSS
You are here: IE »   Story

Blackberry wins domain dispute against Indian firm

  • Print
  • Mail This Article
  • Comments
  • Add to favorites
  • Blackberry
    The maker of Blackberry has won a case against an Indian firm.

    Research In Motion, the maker of popular Blackberry smart phones, has clinched victory in an internet domain name dispute against an Indian firm at the World Intellectual Property Right Organisation (WIPO).

    The Canadian phone maker had challenged the registration of three domain names -- blackbberry.com, blckberry.com, and bllackberry.com -- by the MumbaiDomains, a Mumbai-based firm, at the WIPO, stating they were similar to its trademark Blackberry, and could be confused with it.

    "Save for the addition/deletion of a single letter, the disputed domain names are visually and phonetically identical to the famous blackberry trademark, which also supports a finding of confusion," RIM had contended before the WIPO.

    The Geneva-based WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Centre has ordered the transfer of all three domain names used by Mumbai-based firm to Research In Motion (RIM).

    Ads by Google

    All the three disputed domain names are registered with eNom by MumbaiDomains.

    RIM had alleged that the "disputed domain names are nearly identical to the famous blackberry trademark", and further the contended names are being used to attract internet users to the websites by creating confusion.

    RIM is the proprietor of over 1,500 trademark registrations and applications worldwide containing, or comprising, the word "blackberry" and is one of the leading designers and manufacturers of innovative wireless solutions.

    The Blackberry smart phone is available on over 300 networks in more than 100 countries.

    According to the information available with WIPO, RIM had filed the complaint against the Indian firm on March 10 this year, although the domain names were registered in 2004 on two dates – May 6 and August 28.

    ... contd.

    Next12
    Strict action needs to be taken on eNom to stop such other practicesBy: Ranjit Patil | 14-May-2009 Reply | Forward You dirt cheap "eNom - MumbaiDomains" don't malign the name of India by doing such cheap tricks and capitalizing on the ignorance of people and/or those who mis-type the words.You are no better than those Chinese firms who use 'Starbucks' and other names improperly ad is and direct infringement.Indian Govt. should also stop such fraudulent companies.
    Post a Comment
    Name:
    Email:
    Title:
    Maximum characters allowed     
    Comment:
    TERMS OF USE:
    The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
    I agree to the terms of use.